top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJolene Combs

Take in the Moment

It’s a crisp, rainy, blustery morning. All the windows are open. No music is playing. No baby is crying. The only sound to be heard is the swaying of the trees in the ever-strengthening wind. The warmth from my favorite blanket brings a mixture of the perfect amount of warmth and comfort. I’ve had this blanket for 10+ years. Oh the stories it could tell.

But in this moment all I can think of are the blessings that seem to be floating around me in this very room. I’ve had my share of difficult seasons in life but right now is not one of them. There are so many things to get done around the house this morning, but all I want to do is sit here, in the silence, and take in the sense of gratitude that is surrounding me in this moment.

I’m not a still person. Being the mom of a four and a half month old baby I find myself with almost more to check off my to-do list than there are lists. It seems as though there’s always something to do. And I honestly enjoy having tasks to complete and keep me busy. But right now I am shutting all of those out. Right now I am taking the time to be still and take account of my thoughts and feelings in this moment.

I am taking a moment to just be. I so rarely do this and five plus years ago I somehow thought it was wrong to just sit still and be when there were tasks to complete. Over the years, and with an added dose of maturity, I am slowly learning the art of being still and taking in a moment for what it is.

Not every still moment comes with an epiphany. Some are just that - a moment. And that’s ok. The lesson I am trying to learn is to slow down and allow for my mind and heart to rest in the stillness.

I have a ways to go and a lot more to learn, but thankfully life is full of moments to just be.

So what moment will you take in today?


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page