top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJolene Combs

No More Disappointing Daydreams

“For I know the plans I have for you,” says the Lord. “They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope.”

‭‭Jeremiah‬ ‭29:11‬ ‭


There’s almost nothing more I love to do in life than plan and dream! I can jump forward in my daydreams many years down the road and already have everything planned in my head.


Future backyard and garden? Planned.

The ultimate farmhouse table setup? Planned.

Shiplap as only Joanna Gaines can do? Planned.

The ultimate crazy-plant-lady sun room? Planned.


I digress, but you get the point, right? Many of us are always thinking ahead to the next big thing and planning exactly how it will all pan out. I truly envy those of you that have the ability to float through life without planning a thing. Share your secrets please!


When I first sat down to brainstorm for this devotional, I wrote out a list of the first “no mores” that came to mind when I think of what our future home in Heaven holds.


No more disappointment

No more unknown

No more searching through the darkness

No more anxious waiting

No more let-downs

No more dashed dreams

No more anxiety

No more tears

No more negatives


It’s no surprise that disappointment was the first one that came to mind. I have found far too many times in life that when I do nothing but daydream the reality is more than likely going to be a disappointment. My daydreams rarely factor in the feelings and emotions and plans of those around me. It never adds up the expense of said plan and it always has a faint, rosy glow about it. When those dreams are dashed I sit there in the heap of them and wonder why I dreamt it all up in the first place.


I could go on, but the last thing I want to do here is focus on the negative. On the contrary, I am drawn to the daydream of Heaven when there will be no more dashed dreams of disappointment, because God’s ultimate purposes and dreams for us will be fulfilled in all their shining glory. The dreams He has dreamt for me may not necessarily be the exact same as the ones bumping their way around in my head, so in the end I have to trust that His purposes are always the best and greatest for me.


As a dreamer, trusting those dreams and plans to Someone else has been a very difficult lesson to learn over the years. Recently the trusting of those dreams got put to the ultimate test. I’m at that point in my life where the dreams are getting bigger and more realistic, therefore increasing the need for me to entrust them to my Savior even more. It’s a daily journey to wake up, and even before my feet hit the floor, hand those plans over to the ultimate Planner.


The best way I’ve found to combat the worry and the ache of disappointment is reading through Psalms. It’s my favorite book of the Bible. Maybe the reason is that David uses the word “trust” 58 times in the course of the book. There’s a calming reassurance I receive when I read these words:


Psalm 13:5 - “But I trust in your unfailing love. I will rejoice because you have rescued me.”


Psalm 143:8 - “Let me hear of your unfailing love each morning, for I am trusting you. Show me where to walk, for I give myself to you.”


Psalm 115:9 - (Personalized) - O Jolene, trust the Lord! He is your helper and your shield.


Reflection:

  1. How do you handle disappointment when things don’t go exactly as planned?

  2. What are some practical ways you can handle those disappointments as we expectantly wait for Heaven and the joy of no more disappointment?


Prayer:

Father, it’s really hard for me to hand over my dreams and plans to You. But I have come to realize that in order to grow in my love for You, I desperately need to trust You more each day. Lead me on this journey of trust and may others see the work You’re doing in me.


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page